The Human Connection, A Letter to My Ex

Ivy Dehner

I found something in you, a reflection of a piece of me that I’d never seen before. Sometimes I fear that I’ve lost that part of myself without you mirroring it back at me. I couldn’t tell you what it is that I saw or felt.

At first when you left I felt an enormous hole that I never thought I could ever fill again. I kept searching for you but everyone I met fell short. They weren’t you and I knew that was the only thing I could accept.

Now that I’ve stopped looking and stopped missing it a part of me doesn’t want to lose it for it might never return. It’s not you that I’m looking for anymore, it’s myself. Can I only see myself when it’s being reflected back to me?

With every person I meet I express a different part of who I am to…

View original post 56 more words

I would be intererested to hear your thoughts and contributions.

